Physics National Awards

Please join us in congratulating the Physics section, which has collected national awards once again!

Izabella Lipnharski, MS, one of our PhD Graduate Assistants, has won both of the awards given at the recent National Spring Clinical Meeting of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) in St Louis, Missouri. Izabella won 1st Place in the Young Investigator Symposium (YIS) competition with her presentation “Quantifying Organ Dose and Improving Image Quality in CT Exams of Subjects with Metal Implants Utilizing a Metal-Artifact Reduction Algorithm”. As if that were not enough, she also won 1st Place in the Best Poster Competition with the work “Correlating Image Quality and Reduced Radiation Exposure from Low-Dose CT Scanning in a Lung Cancer Screening Program”, part of our continued line of research in CT Dosimetry and Image Quality. It was only two years ago that we thought we couldn’t perform any better in these competitions when our former PhD students Anna Mench (now at Salem Hospital in Portland, Oregon) and Lindsay Sinclair (now at Oregon Health Sciences University Hospital, also in Portland, Oregon) had won 1st and 2nd place, respectively in the 2013 YIS, and now Izabella’s double award is unprecedented! We want to thank our collborators, Dr Bidari, Dr Mohammed, Dr Gyapong and Brian Cormack for their work.

Catherine Carranza, our current junior undergraduate junior student has been awarded one of the 2015 American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) Diversity Recruitment through Education and Mentoring Program Fellowship. Catherine has been working in our group for a while now, so it is quite fitting that her talent and work has been recognized with the award of this fellowship by the AAPM.

The Physics Assistants and Students continue to raise the bar with their academic performance in the Medical Physics Graduate Program.